Model cannot be infered useing expectation propagation RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have a model which I want to run using expectation propagation.

I studied this page to see if I can run my model, since I get this error:

This model is not supported with ExpectationPropagation due to Factor.Product(double product, double a, double b). Try using a different algorithm or expressing the model differently in
    Factor.Product(beta_use[geneRange], vdouble37)

It means there is no way that I can run my model using EP? That is not good for me. Isn't there a trick to overcome the problem (like using other distributions, etc)? After putting a lot of effort on this work, I'm now getting this error :-(

I also receive these errors, and I can't find out what is the problem in these cases:

Details: [0] System.ArgumentException: Beta is not of type Gaussian for argument 3 of method GaussianProductOp.ProductAverageConditional(Gaussian Product = Gaussian, Gaussian A = Gaussian, Gaussian B = Beta)
    [1] System.ArgumentException: Gaussian is not of type double for argument 1 of method GaussianProductOp.ProductAverageConditional(double A = Gaussian, Gaussian B = Beta)
    [2] System.ArgumentException: Beta is not of type double for argument 2 of method GaussianProductOp.ProductAverageConditional(Gaussian A = Gaussian, double B = Beta)

I would appreciate any help. Thanks a lot.

Tuesday, May 27, 2014 5:44 PM

Answers

• You could approximate the logistic function (or any other function) by a set of linear pieces.  Use Variable.If to determine what region of the input you are in, then output the appropriate linear function.  It depends on what aspect of the logistic function is important for your problem.
    • Marked as answer by RazinR Wednesday, May 28, 2014 2:32 PM
    Wednesday, May 28, 2014 2:31 PM
    Owner
  • The logistic returns a beta.
    • Marked as answer by RazinR Wednesday, May 28, 2014 1:39 PM
    Wednesday, May 28, 2014 12:42 PM