Peer to Peer Synchronization using Sync Framework RRS feed

• Question

• Here is the scenario that I would like to build:

1. I start up my WPF desktop application (built in VS 2008 of course). This app is storing it's data in a local XML file (or whatever, I gather the format of local persistence is irrelevant).

2. I continue to work locally in my application.

3. Another instance of my application is fired up somewhere else on the LAN. The two instances of the application now synchronize data so that info entered in App B since it was last online is copied to App A, and vise versa.

I don't care about synchronizing with a SQL server, in fact, it is a requirement that my scenario is serverless. This is a purely peer to peer situation. I have a lot of experience writing WCF code in P2P channels, so I _almost_ wrote my own code to do this when I found the Sync Framework.

Basically what I'm looking for is an API that says "here's my data, sync it over net.p2p://myapp/synchchannel"

Is this something that Sync Framework can do for me? If so, is this out of the box or do I have to write my own provider that uses the WCF peer channel?

Friday, December 28, 2007 1:52 PM

Answers

• Well, I would agree with you if there is one designated client is publishing changes and the rest of the clients in the peer network just consume it. However, what I understand is that every client will publish its own changes and other peers will then consume it ..etc. If this is the case, then it will get tricky quickly and it appears to me that the sync framework is one way to address the complexity.

The complexity I am referring to could manifest itself in a scenario like this: P1 publishes its changes, P2, P3 consumed P1's changes. Now, P2 made changes on top of what P1 changes. P3 did the same thing. Now consider the following cases:

1- When P1 consumes the changes from P2 and P3, will you detect conflicts?