locked
Remote Connection: Changed Files Saved Location? RRS feed

  • Question

  • When using Remote Connection to open a file (example: clicking on documents\testfile.xls) and changing the contents of that file, clicking "Save" appears to save the file to somewhere.  It dosen't overwrite the original file.  Is there a setting where it can be changed to overwrite the file on the fileserver?  If not, where is the modified file located?

    Scott
    Saturday, June 14, 2008 3:37 PM

Answers

  •  irscott wrote:
    When using Remote Connection to open a file (example: clicking on documents\testfile.xls) and changing the contents of that file, clicking "Save" appears to save the file to somewhere.  It dosen't overwrite the original file.  Is there a setting where it can be changed to overwrite the file on the fileserver?

     

    No.  That interface is strictly for uploading/downloading.

     

     irscott wrote:
    If not, where is the modified file located?

    Scott

     

    It ends up being saved as a temporary internet file on your client PC.  It's not saved on the server anywhere.

    Saturday, June 14, 2008 5:13 PM
    Moderator