More complete example that involves reading data from xlsb or csv file RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I am a beginner in .net programming but desperately would like to use infer.net to investigated certain problems. Part of my frustration is that, despite spending many, many hours pouring through the documentation, I have literally not been able to make a single step towards applying any of this stuff. Perhaps I am just being dumb here, but I am able to do plenty of things in JMP, Matlab, etc. I think part of my problem is that all the examples use dummy data that is generated by random numbers or is literally just keyed in as part of the source code. I would be incredibly appreciative if someone could help me see how to transform the Gaussian process regression tools into something where I could specify an excel file (preferably XLSB so I am not limited to 65k rows) or, even better, a csv/tab delimited text file with a header column which is imported to several columns, each named after the header row. I'd like to be able to just specify this file and then specify what are to be the input variables and what are the output variables, and then "train" the system to make predictions of new outputs given inputs it hasn't seen before that are specified in other, identically formatted/constructed files. Once I saw that, I am confident I would be able to generalize it to use other parts of Infer.net, or even switch to loading data from other kinds of sources, but with the "toy" examples (no offense intended) included it is just proving impossible for me to make the leap to having this be useful. Thanks so much in advance for any assistance. 
    Saturday, October 22, 2011 8:37 PM

Answers