View Backup RRS feed

• General discussion

• I'm a administrator of WHS. But i don't know why i can't open a home computer backup.

It said you must open a backup from the WHSC running on a home computer.

I'm a administrator, why can't let me ope it?!?!

Saturday, April 7, 2007 4:53 PM

All replies

• Can you open backup from another client? I have the same problem. I can't open backup from WHS, but yet I can open backups from my clients. I am still investigating myself.
    Saturday, April 7, 2007 6:04 PM
  • You can't open a backup when logged in to WHS through Remote Desktop because you can't restore from the backup to WHS. It's a client backup.
    Saturday, April 7, 2007 8:41 PM
  • Hi Ken, what I meant is I am sitting in front of my whs, and I can't open / view the backup. Is this by supposed to be like this?
    Saturday, April 7, 2007 9:19 PM
  •  1ne wrote:
    Hi Ken, what I meant is I am sitting in front of my whs, and I can't open / view the backup. Is this by supposed to be like this?
    Yes,it's supposed to be like that. You can't view the files in a backup on WHS, only while you're accessing the backup from a client PC. The interface to the backup files uses a driver that exposes the backup like another drive on your PC, and that driver doesn't exist on WHS.
    Saturday, April 7, 2007 11:58 PM
  • Right on.. good to know.. Nothing wrong with mine then... Thanks
    Sunday, April 8, 2007 1:57 AM
  • But Ken, i mean that i am a administrator but can't let me to view client's backup file. I know that i can't rstore them, but i want to open the nackup to access some file.
    Sunday, April 8, 2007 3:48 PM
  •  

Thanks for this clarification. The dialog box that pops up is SERIOUSLY confusing. "You must open a backup from the Windows Home Server Console running on a home computer"? it should say something like "You must open a backup from the WHS Console from the client machine that was backed up"