My Password isn't being recognized RRS feed

• Question

• Dear Tech person,

Although I have worked on Windows laptops & desktop for over 20 years I am very new to networking and the use of servers.  I am using an Acer Easy Store  H341 running Windows Home Server with Power pack 3. So this is my problem - Last week I installed WHS and attached a laptop running Vista Professional & a desktop running windows 7.  Installation went off without a hitch.   However, I keep on getting error messages about how my password is wrong.  I've gone to the extent of reinstalling the WHS 4 times and doing a hard reboot for my computer as well as the server, each time entering my new password (which in reality is my old one that I entered in the 1st place) but it still does not recognize it.  I don't understand why it accepts it for the Console and not for when I want to see the files on the server, I have made all the passwords the same on all the computers/server as they suggested.  I can get into the WHS console with my password.  However, when I go into explorer (Start,right click & choose Explore) and I choose the server icon under network so as to be able to see the files that are on the server or another computer, I then get a box asking for Logon Name and password.  I proceed to do that but it says password and/or logon name are wrong.  I have checked them and I am certain they are NOT.  I don't have caps lock on and the other usual things I've been reading about.

The good news is that from the console I can see that for both of my computers the back ups to the server are being made automatically.

I welcome any suggestions for this frustrating problem.

Sincerely,
    Bill Bloom
    Tuesday, June 5, 2012 4:52 AM

All replies

• Did you create a user with identical username/password in the console like you are using for logging on locally on the client?

If so, there are often two reasons: