dcom errors RRS feed

• Question

• I seem to be getting this error on startup of my WHS. I am new to errors on WHS but it is repeatable. I was not having this problem until I turned on remote access.

DCOM got error "The service cannot be started, either because it is disabled or because it has no enabled devices associated with it. " attempting to start the service DDNSS with arguments "" in order to run the server:
    {936C3331-F751-4E00-88EA-05642813E326}

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

When I look at the event viwer this is what I get.

Error    7/3/2009    8:55:50 AM    DCOM    None    10005    N/A    SERVER

Sorry about my ignorance but I am just learning my way around a server.

Any help would be great

Emmett
    Friday, July 3, 2009 1:25 AM

Answers

• Hello Olaf and Kariya21

That Driver seems to have solved the restarting problem I was having. The event viewer is not showing any problems after about a 10 minute wait. Remote access seems to report it is happy so far. When I get a chance to remotely log in later today I will really know. I hope it works....

Thank you both

Emmett

Friday, July 3, 2009 1:56 PM

All replies

• Hi Emmet,
    please double click that event to get the details.
    What kind of network adapter is in there? (Could be, that the drivers are still not loaded, if the system attempts to start the service.)
    Does the server including remote access work as expected later? If so, the issue may have resolved itself later.

Best greetings from Germany
    Olaf
    Friday, July 3, 2009 6:11 AM
  • Hi Olaf

When I double click the error:

Event Type:    Error
    Event Source:    DCOM
    Event Category:    None
    Event ID:    10005
    Date:        7/3/2009
    Time:        8:55:50 AM
    User:        N/A
    Computer:    SERVER
    Description: