Please help I am not shore if I can fix or do I have reinstall win XP home sp2 (oem) RRS feed

• Question

• Hello.

I recently had my computer upgraded (new DDR RAM) at a computer store. I still am paying off the bill and can not afford to have the computer shop help fix this problem. I am a disabled student and need a working windows operating system at home to help with study.

Before upgrading the computer, I found out I was running a nongenuine version of XP pro. So I decided to pay an extra $160 for an genuine OEM copy of XP home on top of the cost of the RAM I purchased. 

The first thing I did when connecting to the internet was activate windows online. But their were no updates available for the computer, When I looked over the installed programs I saw a program called AutoPatcher. Looking it up online I found out it updated my windows XP home operating system on my computer (off the internet).  

About a month past and I knew I had to update the computer (windows XP home) so I downloaded a update for AutoPatcher and ran it. I recieved many different errors and the update did not work. It just kept giveing me every error imaginable and terminated every time before finishing.

Now the computer will not run any of my programs properly and  I keep geting ilegal operation errors with several of the programs I run on my computer. The computer is also running verry slowley. Slower than ever before. 

I have tried to remove AutoPatcher but it is not in add/remove programs and also does not have an uninstall command. I have tried looking for answers on the AutoPatcher web site and also different other web sites but found nothing useful or helpfull to remove the program.

Do I have to reinstall XP home?