Required exams to earn a complete MCPD certification RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hi,

    I have just got a reference from site"http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en-in/mcpd-certification.aspx". I am interested in "MCPD on Visual Studio 2010", which has sub categories as : 

    1. Windows Developer 4

    2. Web Developer 4

    3. Windows Azure developer

    Each sub category has some set of exams. But I am only interested in Web Developer 4. So Do I have a choice to go only for Web Developer 4 exams? Also Web Developer 4 has 4 exams (515,513,516,519) . Are all mandatory to earn a MCPD certification?


    Sunday, April 20, 2014 11:35 AM


  • Yes, you can pursue only the MCPD on Web apps, and forget about the Windows and Azure variants. In fact, most people only get one of the MCPDs, it is unusual to specialize at the same time in the development of several different types of applications such as web and desktop.

    And also, yes to your second question: You need all four exams (515,513,516,519) to achieve the MCPD certification. If you take only 70-515, you will achieve the MCTS:.NET Framework 4, Web Applications certification (which is "lower level" than the MCPD).

    Sunday, April 20, 2014 5:27 PM