Environmental monitoring of Home Server PC RRS feed

• Question

• As the hardware for this server can be located in some "out of the way location" it would be useful to have a utility to monitor the CPU and Case temperatures from a remote location.

Is there software availbe to do this

Thanks

John
    Thursday, October 25, 2007 9:45 PM

Answers

• OK Problem solved, I found a utility from my Motherboard Manufacturer ASUS and that gives me what I want.

Thanks for all the help..

Great..

John
    Friday, October 26, 2007 4:56 PM

All replies

• There are some software solutions out there, one example is AMD's Cool n Quiet technology and the corresponding AMD Dashboard. More information can be found here.

Thursday, October 25, 2007 10:09 PM
  • I have an AMD system and I woudl like to run the Cool and Quiet utility but how do you load it on this sytem and how do you access the utility.
    I am very new to this server technology so excuss the Q if it seems simple.

John
    Thursday, October 25, 2007 10:26 PM
  • If this is your home server that is the AMD system, use Remote Desktop to log into the Windows Home Server, then from the home server go here and check the 'Utilities, Drivers and Updates' link for the processor you're running. Both the Cool n' Quiet driver and the Dashboard should be listed as an available download. After the two are installed, you would view the dashboard while using Remote Desktop connected to your home server.

Thursday, October 25, 2007 11:02 PM
  • Marc, I am now going to show my true inexperience, When ever I try to access the Home Server via the Remote Desktop connection i try to sign on with a user ID of a user that has remote access enabled and I get an error something like ..............  to log onto this remote computer you must be allowed to log on thru Terminal Service righ   .... how do I configure thsi please? Or should I be using a different log on

THanks

John
    Friday, October 26, 2007 3:30 PM
  • John