locked
One Care after System Restore RRS feed

  • Question

  • I recently had to do a complete system restore on my computer taking it back to "From the box, new".  I re-installed all the information from my back-up discs but now One Care is telling me I again need to back-up my files and that this has never been done.  How can I back-up just my new files without having to back-up all the files again?  I'm using an HP desktop with Windows XP with service pack 3.
    Saturday, December 12, 2009 11:43 PM

Answers

  • You must perform a new, full backup, since you now have a "new" computer following the restore to factory. OneCare cannot continue with the old backup as the references to that backup and all files was lost when the PC was returned to factory defaults.
    -steve
    ~ Microsoft MVP Windows Live ~ Windows Live OneCare| Live Mesh|MS Security Essentials Forums Moderator ~
    Monday, December 14, 2009 12:57 PM
    Moderator