KB949810 Breaks Office Applications RRS feed

• General discussion

• I am an OBA developer, so I have Office set to alert me when there is an add-in error at startup.  After installing KB949810, I receive numerous error dialogs after opening Office applications with the following info.

Title: Custom UI Runtime Error in Office Genuine Advantage Add-in

Error found in Custom UI XML of "Office Genuine Advantage Add-in":

I have screen shots and more details on my blog at http://andystechfun.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!16FB6442242CEAB7!7311.entry.

Wednesday, April 16, 2008 7:29 PM

All replies

• I have the same problem.  I go to word options and remove the addin and go to excel option and remove the addin.  how do i remove the update when it isn't listed in installed updates under add/remove programs.

Thursday, April 17, 2008 2:34 PM
  • Exactly the same thing here, line for line.  I have gone into each MS app and disabled the add-in, appears to help temporarily.  No idea what will happen when another update comes out, though.
    Thursday, April 17, 2008 5:27 PM
  • It seems that the add-in is continuously readding itself.  Even after removing the add-in, after I close the Office app and reopen it, it comes back, now.  I've seen this behavior before, but that was always in malware.

How do I uninstall this KB permanently?  Especially since I never should have received it in the first place.

Friday, April 18, 2008 12:29 PM
  • I have updated my original blog post with instructions for hiding the error message since there doesn't seem to be a good way of just getting rid of it.

The solution I originally posted ended up only being a temporary fix.  Now I receive the same error messages from OGAAddin.  If you're not a developer and want to hide the error messages, do the following:

1. Go into the application's Options (i.e. click the Office Button and select "Excel Options")
    2. Select "Advanced" from the navigation pane on the left.