How to add continous parents without factors RRS feed

• Question

• Hello together,

I'm quite new in programming Infer.Net and I already read the tutorials and also Infer.Net 101. It is quite amazing, what is possible, but currently I run into a problem of implementing continous parents (Gaussians), which are not combined by a factor. I have a model with three nodes (A - Guassian, B - Gaussian, C - Gaussian) and C depends on A and B. I am looking for something similar to the Wet/Sprinkler/Rain-Sample, but with continous distributions.

I hope you can understand what I mean and give me a short hint.

Thank you all.

Tuesday, March 12, 2013 9:32 AM

All replies

• Can you please let us know how exactly C depends on A and B?
    Tuesday, March 12, 2013 10:11 AM
  • Actually I am not sure, if it is a simple sum like C = A + B.

I have a simple use case, diabetics. A = amount of insulin, B = value of bloodsugar before threatment, C = value of bloodsugar after treatment. So I have some trainingsdata which amount of insulin in combination with a specific pre-bloodsugar (B) results in which post-bloodsugar (C).

My inference question is for an observed pre-bloodsugar (B) and an observed post-bloodsugar (C), which amount of insulin (A) is necessary.

Sorry, for this newbie questions, but I am a little bit confused of how to build the right model and how to implement it with Infer.Net.

Thanks a lot.

Tuesday, March 12, 2013 10:40 AM
  • It depends on whether you understand the relation between A, B and C or not.