Issues with the new forum interface RRS feed

• Question

• I work as a moderator, and there are some new things in this interface that are "a bother":

1.       The TAB key no longer works. That’s a PITA. I sometimes need to indent things and I don’t want to have to use the space bar. Nor do I always want to use a “table” construct that the code editor generates.

In order to “moderate” a message (move, merge, change type) I have to scroll back up to the top of the window. Usually, one has to read an entire message thread before deciding what needs to be done with it. With the tools at the right, it didn’t matter where we were in the message thread. Now, we have to scroll all the way to the top. PITA

3. I, too, miss the tools to change font size and color. Sometimes, the editor chooses a font size that's almost impossible to read. I want to be able to change that easily. Also, I sometimes want to "quote" only small parts of a message. This is very difficult to manage with the automatic Quote feature. So I usually end up copying and pasting the bits of text I want to quote. In the previous interface I'd format them with a light gray background to imitate the quote feature. I fear I'll now need to resort to the good old pre-HTML message days and <<use double brackets>>. Not as elegant, but there you go...

Cindy Meister, VSTO/Word MVP
    Monday, March 30, 2009 7:51 PM

Answers

• Yes, it looks like we have a few things to sort out with the editor, the indent is not very predictable. I seem to remember using it the other day without problems, which is why I suggested it, but now it doesn't seem to be responding as I would expect. I also would like to implement TAB.