none
How to activate after Install RRS feed

• Question

• I am a CIS student. Our college is able to offer our department current Microsoft OSs. I  copied  the ISO  for Vista and installed. During the process I expected to enter the license key that I was given. I never saw that screen.

I have build 6000 (Debug), according to winver.exe.

I don't think I have a good install, not only because I didn't enter the key, but also because of missing and malfunctioning features.

How can I validate the install and activate?

Dan Flory
    Monday, December 11, 2006 5:07 PM

Answers

• Hi Dan,

If you haven't installed your license key yet you can do so by going to System Properties in Control Panel, either by right-clicking on Computer and selecting Properties, or clicking on Control Panel, then System and Maintenance, then System.  There you'll see a blue link under Windows Activation at the bottom of the window which will allow you to enter a product key.  Once you enter your product key be sure to click "Next" or press Enter, but not "Activate Windows online now".  If you have any problems with activating let me know. 

After you've activated, please visit http://www.microsoft.com/genuine/ and click "Validate Windows".  Again, let me know if that doesn't go smoothly for you. My guess is that should clear up the issues with you missing features. Thanks!

Monday, December 11, 2006 6:18 PM
  • Where did you get your copy of Windows Vista 6000 (RTM)?

I would suggest contacting your IT administrator to contact his Microsoft Account Manager to get the best level of support.

Many of the large corporations and institutions that have access to this are only testing at this point before deployment.

-phil

Tuesday, December 12, 2006 7:50 PM

All replies

• Hi Dan,