MS ICE 2.0.2 RRS feed

• General discussion

• I’ve been using the original version of MS ICE for a few years. The 1<sup>st</sup> version of MS ICE had the intelligence to determine the angle & would easily stich the images. It was able to note the changes in the existing environment even when windy.

I decided to test 2.0.2 and make a comparison to my experience by using some of the original photos still in my cache. (Access the originals at Victorian-Parks.com and compare them)

I am extremely disappointed with the outcome! MS ICE 2.0.2 cannot accurately align a pole, it does not align the sun and many other features are a complete mess. Even when using a level tripod with set increments it fails to stich an obvious pole.

The software has become a nuisance to use due to advertisement & I recommended the software itself should not be used for more than 8 photos.

However I do respect the morality of Microsoft for giving smaller competitors & hobbyist software developers the opportunity to easily compete against Ice 2.0.2.

To better improve the 1<sup>st</sup> version I would have appreciated to see.

• Aesthetically changed the interface.
    • Allow the user to enter into a dome or sphere (Similar to xmens Cerebro) and place the photos that were not automatically stitched to a set location
    • Set thresholds on merging photos for windy conditions
    • Automatically determine time taking to complete panorama; as to correctly adjust colour balance
    • Use color balance to determine brightness of a particular photo (for partial cloudy days)
    • Use lasso tool to select flaws in stitching alignment
    • Better improve vertical alignment
    • Select environment (e.g. forest – various trees with no branch the same geometry, distant landscape - clouds do not form a distant mountain, city – standard geometry with repetitiveness, beach – merge waves into rows)