none
Corrupt .mny & mbf RRS feed

• Question

• W10 x64 running MS Money 2005 (UK) ver 14.0.120.1105

I of 2 accounts has stopped working from today having been last used 2 days ago 23rd Sept. Both the .mny & .mbf are corrupt.

Ran the repair tool, tried system restore, tried a file recovery program to find older .mny & .mbf etc, tried installing/opening on another PC, tried Sunset edition & repair, read every page on web which thus far it seems no one has ever fixed a corruption issue.

Very strange as other account works fine. I've been running money since 2008 when I opened the bank account the program is associated with. I have set up the account again but when downloading statements it only retrieves about 30 days worth of transactions. Assuming the corrupt files are lost and I have to continue with this fresh account, is it possible to download transactions going back many years and if so how?

Many thanks

ps. point taken that I've been lax in maintaining backups...lesson learnt!

Monday, September 25, 2017 1:35 PM

All replies

• I think your pessimism is mostly warranted, but I expect some files have been recovered with the salvage process.

You could also read about sunriise and  sunriise2. I don't know if that would help you, but it might be worth a look.

Since you can still open the file, have you tried File->Export...->LooseQIF for the problem account?
    • Edited by Cal LearnerModerator Wednesday, September 27, 2017 3:35 PM corrected sunrise to sunriise
    Monday, September 25, 2017 1:53 PM
  • The transaction date limit is probably set by your bank. 30 days/one month is the usual default.

There may be options to go back up to a few years. Check what your bank has available.

Money can access multiple accounts: there is no need to have separate .mny files for each account unless they are for distinct legal entities.

Monday, September 25, 2017 3:19 PM
  • Duvl,