WHServer Activation RRS feed

• Question

• I am a tech net subscriber and installed WHS. In the beginning I had some hardware and installation issues and had to reinstall the product a few times. I entered the product key on the first go round and did not enter it in the following installations. I finally have it up and running like a clock as of today. I went to activate the product and it tells me my product key is not valid. I verified the product key and still no luck. Any ideas or thoughts?

Thanks,

Allen 

Wednesday, June 2, 2010 9:22 PM

All replies

• Allen,

I would call TechNet Support to assist. If it was activated previously, depending on the hardware changes of the system you may not be able to re-activate with that key. TechNet support should be able to help you out.

Regards,

Mike 

Wednesday, June 2, 2010 9:55 PM
  • The product key you obtained from Technet can only be used once.

What I would do is try phone activation; explain that you had to reinstall.

I'm not on the WHS team, I just post a lot. :)
    Wednesday, June 2, 2010 10:26 PM
  • I have tried to call Tech Net support earlier today and after being on hold for about 5 minutes the line was disconnected. It took 20 minutes just to get there. They did not seem to know how to route a call for Windows Home Server. Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Allen

Wednesday, June 2, 2010 10:27 PM
  • Ken,

That was the phone number I tried at first. They said they could not activate Windows Home Server. You know the rest of the story so far. I wonder if anyone else is having this issue? Thanks for the help, I am still open to any suggestions.

Thanks,

Allen

Wednesday, June 2, 2010 11:33 PM