Money 2005 w\ Windows 7 neverending update RRS feed

• Question

• I have been using Microsoft Money 2003 for many years. Recently, I got a new computer with Windows 7 installed on it. When I installed Microsoft Money 2003 I received this message.

"Additional Money program files are now being downloaded to your computer.

While the files are being downloaded, you can continue to use Money and other programs. You will be notified when the download process is complete."

This download never completes and some Money files are unavailable until the download completes. So, I tried upgrading to Money 2005 and the same thing happens. The accursed never-ending update of Additional Money program files that probably don't exist anymore. I currently have version 14.0.6.1105 so, I ask what to do?

Sunday, December 6, 2015 9:18 PM

All replies

• Version 14.0.6.1105 is a limited version intended for conversion of Money 99 files to be used with more recent versions of Money.   Unfortunately, it doesn't even seem to do that.  If you are in the US, I suggest that you download US Money Sunset as described in the second "sticky" thread in this forum:

https://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/479281b2-90f9-42ca-85f7-644fc6e1e5c3/download-microsoft-money-installation-files-solve-activation-and-some-other-errors?forum=money

This should be able to open your Money 2003 file.  After you have that working, it would also be a good idea to replace your mnyob99,dll file as described in the first "sticky" thread in this forum:

https://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/d28d6921-1f01-430f-b33e-f5a3ec47077b/important-patch-for-money-plus-maybe-20062007-mnyob99dll?forum=money

That patch is not currently needed when running Windows 7, but it does no harm, and it will be needed if you upgrade to Widows 10.

Let us know how you make out.

Bill Becker

Sunday, December 6, 2015 10:04 PM