CRM Attribute Change RRS feed

• Question

• How do I go about changing an attribute to be a "lookup" TYPE instead of "nvarchar"?   Right now it is set up to be "nvarchar" and it is grayed out.  Is it possible to change it?

Thank in advance
    Len
    Friday, June 19, 2009 2:11 PM

Answers

• Great, I am glad it worked.  Please take a moment to mark the Post as Answered.  thank you
    Best Regards, Donna
    • Marked as answer by Len Campbell Monday, June 22, 2009 8:41 PM
    Monday, June 22, 2009 6:29 PM

All replies

• Hi, Len.

The only supported way to create lookup attribute is to create the relationship between two entities where your entity is child.

PS You can change attribute type only when you create the attribute.
    Truth is opened the prepared mind My blog - http://a33ik.blogspot.com
    Friday, June 19, 2009 2:17 PM
  • I am new to CRM 4.0 and learning as I go.  How do I go about making child of two entities.

Thanks again,
    Len
    Friday, June 19, 2009 3:08 PM
  • you need to set up relationships between the entity and the two entities that you want it to be related to. 
    Friday, June 19, 2009 3:12 PM
  • Where do I go about setting that up.

Friday, June 19, 2009 3:53 PM
  • It might help if you tell us exactly what you are trying to accomplish and then we can provide the steps.
    Best Regards, Donna
    Friday, June 19, 2009 8:31 PM
  • Hi Donna,

I have an existing field called "Service Rep." (probably not that it matters) that is just free form on the administration tab within a specific policy.  I would like to edit that entity and make it a lookup field rather than the nvarchar attribute as it is now. I would like to have the Service Rep lookup to reference my contacts so I can pick those contacts for the lookup field.  I hope that was not confusing.  Do I have to set up a relationship to contacts for that Service Rep field?  Please let me know if you need more information.

Thanks again
    Len
    Monday, June 22, 2009 3:39 PM