Periodically consolidating several MS Access databases into a MS SQL Express database RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am new to MS Sync Framework. Just wanted to check if my scenario fits into it and how I can go ahead with its implementation.

I  have 50 nodes. Each nodes has same set of MS Access databases (databases are small in size). Each database (mdb file) in each node has  5 tables and there is some relation among them. I want to consolidate this all these nodes databases into a single MS SQL database on server. Further I want to provide a generic functionality to query this MS SQL database to outside world.

Is there any way/technique in which I can consolidate MS Access database to SQL such that, if in future there comes a requirement to change some parts of Access database (adding/deleting column, change in table relationship, etc. ) then I will not have to change my code and just by mere changing configuration files I will be able to get the required consolidated MS SQL database? Further, this consolidation is going to happen periodically say after every 1 min.

I have mentioned the names of the database, just to more specific in my query.

Sunday, June 13, 2010 12:28 AM

Answers

• you can check out sample providers here: http://code.msdn.microsoft.com/sync

you can use SSMA to periodically consolidate your data but not necessarily migrate your Access database application to use SQLServer.

But reading your post again, it may not be the absolute solution specifically if you want the sync interval of 1 min.

Please note also that Sync Fx is not a "continous replication" type of solution similar to SQL Replication. In Sync Fx, you have to explicitly invoke the synchronization. So in your case, you may have to build a timer in your application to invoke the sync given a particular interval (in your case 1min).

Sunday, June 13, 2010 9:13 AM

All replies