none
HP Home Server Price RRS feed

• General discussion

• This is my first time posting in this forum I have only had WHS for a couple weeks now but I am generally impressed with it. I am running it on a Amd 64 3200+ (2.0ghz) with 1 gb RAM and about 700 GB storage. But what I wanted to say is don't you think HP's WHS kit overpriced? I mean for $500 you get Amd Live Semperon 1.8 ghz 512 RAM and 500 gb serial ata hdd. I could build a $500 WHS for the same price with a dual core processor and more RAM. What do you think? Am I missing something haha?
    • Moved by T. HeadrickMicrosoft employee Friday, October 31, 2008 4:40 PM hardware thread (Moved from Windows Home Server Software to Windows Home Server Hardware)
    Thursday, October 30, 2008 5:20 AM

All replies

• When you buy a mediasmart, you get removable bays, a nice design, and support.  Hp will support your server for a year or more.  You also get the TZO domain and did I mention support/warranty?

There are people who can't build their own pc's, let alone find good prices for components.  Mediasmarts are just plug in and they work.  They look nice also.

athlon 3400, 2gb ram, 9 drives totaling about 3.5 tbs.
    Thursday, October 30, 2008 6:12 AM
  • I'm capable of building my own WHS box, but from a cost-benefit ratio, it doesn't work for me!! Far cheaper to buy the HP MSS, get the support, the works out of the box experience, the warranty and use the product for the 2 business I run, than try to squeeze out a few dollars on the front end, only to end up pay 100's of dollars on the back end when things don't work out. Just a business/practical decision that is best for ME. Do what works best for you, but understand that each person's needs/requirements cost-benefit ratios are different!!
    Friday, October 31, 2008 3:01 AM