Windows prompts XP activation after ~3 years RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I purchased an ASUS A6000 Notebook about three years ago. It was purchased from ASUSTek Computer Inc. in Taiwan. The XP registered to the computer has a Proof of License/Certificate of Authenticity sticker at the back. It contains all of the pertinent informations: manufacturer name (ASUS), the edition of the XP (Home Edition), and the product key.

I have been using the laptop steadily for the past 3 years. Never failed a Genuine Advantage Validation because the XP installed to the computer is legit. Out of the blue today, Dec 31/2008, I start the computer up, and saw the Windows Validation screen. I tried to validate my XP through internet access, but no connections was detected. Next, I called the service number for Taiwan region, and was prompted to enter, set by set, the Installation ID. The automated system informs me that this Installion ID is not valid, and prompted me to enter my Product Key (located at the bottom of the laptop), to generate a new set of Installation ID. That also failed, and the activation screen indicates that my Product Key is invalid. I then spoke to a representative who told me that there is nothing they could do to help me on their end. They told me to contact the manufacturer (ASUS) about the problem. That also failed, since everytime I press 1 for transfers to the laptop department, they play the same message again, and asks me to specify my product type, which led me to press 1 again, and the loop begins.

My only guess (probably a poor one) is that some update recently released caused this bug/problem. I highly doubt that ASUS sold me a computer with a fake key that worked 3 years then decided to quit. I will continue to see if ASUS can do anything on their part. Meanwhile, I hope the experts here in this community can shine some light on this problem.