locked
shared folders RRS feed

  • Question

  • Let's say I have a lot of photos I want to share.  Would it be best to COPY the photos or MOVE them to the Shared Folders?
    Saturday, April 14, 2007 12:30 AM

Answers

  • I would copy them over. WHS is in beta stages. Always have a backup.
    Saturday, April 14, 2007 1:02 AM

All replies

  • I would copy them over. WHS is in beta stages. Always have a backup.
    Saturday, April 14, 2007 1:02 AM
  • What he said. Smile We are warned (repeatedly, in various places including the documentation, the team blog, and here) that this is beta software and we should not place our only copy of irreplaceable important data one WHS. Always have an off-site backup. Even though the team says they will deliver a method of migrating to the final version that doesn't require wiping WHS, we shouldn't rely on that. The wrong bug in the wrong place could make them renege on that promise. I'm assuming I'll have to burn my WHS to the ground when the product is released...
    Saturday, April 14, 2007 3:43 AM
    Moderator
  • Yes of course always have a backup but, leaving the Beta issue out for a moment, in this case I would have two backups:  The copy in the shared folder and the automatic backup copy in the backup folder!
    Tuesday, April 17, 2007 8:24 PM