none
Who takes takes the ownership of an application you have developed for a company

General discussion

• Hello ,

I work as a software developer for an insurance company. I have created some small business applications using Visual Studio and other tools, where other employees can accomplish their daily tasks. I am the only one who writes code there. The idea of the software was mine, they just explained me the problem , and asked what might be the solution .  Recently I am planning to quit from that company.  I wonder who takes the rights to use the application, what about the source code? Before I started working for them, employers had to use MS Excel and some other tools to accomplish their tasks. Do I have rights to take the applications and the source code with me when I quit, or they must stay as a proprietary of the company. In the contract is not specified who takes  rights of the ownership.

Thanks.

Sorry if the question is out of the forum category.

Admir

• Edited by admiri92 Thursday, October 22, 2015 11:41 AM writting mistake
    • Moved by Just KarlModerator Thursday, October 22, 2015 3:21 PM Looking for the correct forum.
    Thursday, October 22, 2015 11:34 AM

All replies

• Hello,

The MSDN, TechNet and Expression Library Feedback forum is to "Help improve the Library Experience in MSDN, TechNet and Expression by providing feedback on features, bugs, look and feel or by just providing suggestions". This is not a support forum.

As it's off-topic here, I am moving the question to the Where is the forum for... forum.

Karl

When you see answers and helpful posts, please click Vote As Helpful, Propose As Answer, and/or Mark As Answer.
    My Blog: Unlock PowerShell
    My Book: Windows PowerShell 2.0 Bible
    My E-mail: -join('6D73646E5F6B61726C406F75746C6F6F6B2E636F6D'-split'(?<=\G.{2})'|%{if($_){[char][int]"0x$_"}})

Thursday, October 22, 2015 3:19 PM
  • Hello,