Installation Challenges RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to WHS but love the idea so I downloaded the evaluation file from Windows.  I saved the ISO file to my hard drive and then burned it into a DVD-R.  I don't know enough about ISO files and I know they won't boot so what am I supposed to do now?  I read the installation files a half-dozen times and am lost.  I have a program that will "extract" ISO files but how would I burn them into the DVD and in what order would they go so they are in the correct place?  If this is successful, as I am sure it will be, I will be purchasing the full copy.
    Friday, September 18, 2009 4:39 PM

All replies

• Each common burning software (but not Windows itself without any tools besides version 7) will be able to directly copy the ISO image to a DVD (you should not create a DVD manually and write the file on it!).
    In Nero simply open the image file via file menu and follow the dialogs.
    Best greetings from Germany
    Olaf
    Friday, September 18, 2009 9:22 PM
  • ImgBurn is a free alternative
    Saturday, September 19, 2009 9:17 AM
  • Thanks to all.  I did find ImgBurn and it worked fine after I did a little reading to find out what an ISO file was.  I guess I just never ran into this issue over the years of playing with Windows products.