WHS as a multi-purpose server RRS feed

• Question

• Hey guys, complete WHS newbie here.  I've been doing some research (and just downloaded the Vail beta) on WHS to see if it might be the right solution for me.  My goal is to have a server that provides NAS functionality and backups, but also can run some server software that I'm currently relying on an old linux machine to run.  The NAS and backup stuff looks like a piece of cake for WHS, but the other stuff I'm not sure about.  

Specifically, what I'm trying to understand is if I can run some Java app servers (such as Tomcat or JBoss) on my WHS as well as a MySQL server.  Since WHS is built on Windows Server 2008 (for Vail at least), it seems like the answer should be "yes".   (I should be able to run almost anything on WHS that I could on a standalone install of Server 2008 right?)  But after doing some googling on this stuff, I'm finding some mixed answers.  Regarding things like Tomcat, I'm finding some info that says that it can be done but requires some workarounds.  Same for MySQL.  

Maybe my question is better put this way: "while it may be technically possible to run these types of server-apps (Tomcat, JBoss, mysql, etc) on Windows Home Server, is it a best practice to do so?"  Or should my WHS machine really be dedicated to doing nothing more than the functionality that WHS provides out of the box?  

Wednesday, November 3, 2010 2:38 PM

Answers

• It's a question of design.

Windows Home Server is designed to be installed by an OEM, bought by a consumer with relatively low technical skills (think "my brother-in-law the Excel jockey, who calls me when his PC won't boot rather than investigate himself"), and used more or less as is. Desktop access, and all you can do with it, is technically unsupported in day-to-day use, as is anything that you might want to do with a general purpose server.