XP Activation setup a pain in the @$$ RRS feed

• Question

• I run windows XP Pro, I am a technician and regularly have to test equipment such as hard drives and the occasional CPU I also develop software and one of my latest is using volume shadow copy to backup XP while in use.

In addition to this I am also creating a diagnostic Pen drive at present.

Due to the number of changes in my system of HD's etc I have previously been hit with the re activation msg and had to go through the painfull phone process in order to get things up and running again; I at this time asked the MS representitive to E-Mail the appropriate person and get this reset and have my key divorced from the system so I wouldnt have this hassle again.

Well guess what... two nights ago after testing and luckily backing up my data after a day of fiddling with fitting some new hard drives for myself and having a few problems with part of raid arrays not initializing due to cables being knocked etc I finaly got everything up and running and began work on my diagnostic pen drive.

Unfortunately I was a little tired and stuffed things up and as a result blew away my C drive, so I went through the process of reinstalling XP and drivers etc only to get hit with activation again!!

I went through the phone process and did what I needed to do only to stuff up the installation of my boot manager 1/2 an hour later and guess what I needed to re-install windows...

It also turns out that one of my new sata II setup is playing up and its going to take a week to get a replacement, can we guess what is going to happen then??? I also have a chap coming on monday that wants me to test his ATA raiding controller... OMG this is going to be chronic..

Ill put this as simply as I can...... there are two things I need and I need them yesterday, support has responded with two useless emails and from there I have sent another two over the period of today....