none
Which technology to focus my studying based on job market trends: System Center or Exchange/Lync?

Question

• Dear Friends,

I am facing a big dilemma in my career path. I am 37 and still working as Jack-of-all-Trades (JOAT). I have 13 years of JOAT experience and I am really fed up with it. Being an ocean of knowledge with an inch deep disgusts me. It's my call whether to keep working as JOAT or focus on one or two technologies for the rest of my career life.

Now, I admire the System Center family as I loved playing with SMS and MOM in the past. However, I see more jobs for Exchange and Lync. I am not saying the SC jobs are little but they are lesser than the latter in the middle east region.

I also admire playing with the Microsoft's mail system because it's fun. And because I have a decent background on VoIP systems, I see no difficulty going for Lync. I even see Lync is more fun than the hardware VoIP systems that I worked on.

You got the idea.

I need someone to share my pain with me and give me a nice push for the right path.

What do you think? :(

Wednesday, February 17, 2016 2:22 PM

Answers

• I just was looking at all of the posts without replies and saw this one.  I'm surprised nobody responded!  As you know, everybody has an opinion.  This will be mine.

I think the job situation and the future of specific technologies is a bit region specific.  At this point, you can choose to go down any path.  You have a bit of knowledge across a bunch of areas.  And, you can also opt to just keep doing that for a few years to see how things play out.