C# developer. What is the best certification for me to start with? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi I'm new to Microsoft Certifications...

I'm an Electrical Engineer who changed the career direction to sw develoment in .NET. So I worked with Visual Studio 2010 for more than one year now, developing in C#. I want to continue developing desktop applications for windows.

I'v been looking over forums and the web but I'm still confused what direction I should go for my first certificate. I have the following questions:

1). I found there are different exams and goals, that might match. Should I try to get a MCSD starting with the exam 70-483 because this is the future and the old MCPD is loosing importance? If yes, is it correct, that I would have to go thru 70-483, 70-484, 70-485 to get the MCSD

2). Or should I go for the 70-511 what only would make sense if I go for 513,516 and 518 according to achieve MCPD, right? But is thet intelligent when it will expire this year? Maby I'm not fast enough with learning and then the hole work was for nothing.

3). Or is it even better to start at an other point?

4). How can I check if I'm ready for the specific exame?

5). Where can I find the best material (books, tutorials) to learn for a specific exame. I don't wanna go to classes, I want to learn at home.

Sorry for this many questions but I spent the hole day on this and I still don't know what is the best way.

Thanks

Angelo

Thursday, January 3, 2013 4:37 PM

Answers

• If you are already working as a .NET developer then do not bother with MTA.  If you understand object orientated programming principles and have had some exposure to the .NET framework then getting certified will be straightforward.

There are 3 different MCSD certs so which exam you take first will depend on which one you want.  And that depends on which skillset you want to be certified for.