Certain windows not refreshing when using Remote Desktop RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am a graduate student using remote desktop to remotely run simulations on my home computer while I am on campus.  The remote desktop works wonderfully, with the exception of the design window within the simulation program I use.  While all of the toolbars display correctly in the program, the window I edit my design in does not seem to refresh.  Instead, the window shows a portion of whatever was previously on the screen (such as the desktop background with icons or a page from my web browser). 

I do not think this is a software specific problem, because another student uses Live Mesh to connect to his home desktop to run simulations using the same program without any problems.  I have also noticed that if I right-click in the window, then close the dialog box that pops up, the portion of the window that was underneath the dialog box displays correctly.

My computer exceeds all of the minimum requirements for Live Mesh, and I have a broadband Internet connection both at home and on campus.  I will try updating my graphics drivers (although my computer is less than 6 months old).  Are there any other steps I could take to resolve this problem? 

Thanks,

--Alex
    Thursday, February 12, 2009 11:24 PM

Answers

• Hi Alex,

This sounds like you're running into some sort of display driver bug. Could you lodge a bug and collect your logs from both machines (and possibly even screenshots of the problem) and then post the ID back here for others with similar problems to validate / track?

Until that is resolved I'd recommend updating the video drivers on both machines - just in case!

Cheers,

Oren
    Friday, February 13, 2009 12:32 AM

All replies

• Hi Alex,