none
Developing systems and want to switch to MS SQL Server and possibly HPC - where do I get help? RRS feed

• Question

• I’ve been an Oracle DBA for over 15 years and am out of work. The Oracle well seems to have dried up. I want to switch to Windows/SQL Server (and possibly HPC Server) for a project I’ve been working on :

This summer I worked on building a massively parallel system I hope to market through my own company when I find some venture capital. My company is me, a one person organization and has no money. This machine uses the Intel 980X hex-core processor, Intel’s fastest commodity processor and four Fermi processors, each with 448 cores. The Intel portion of the code is programmed using the Intel parallel compilers & tools and the Fermi cores are programmed with Nvidia CUDA C and associated debugging and profiling tools. Using these tools I built massively parallel versions of Oracle BI Analytics (cube, rollup, etc.) in an Oracle Cartridge format. The Intel processor manages the execution of the function and uses optimized, multi-threaded OCI calls to fetch data from the database. Each of the thousands of threads executes an SPMD, single program-multiple data, operation on assigned chunks of data and the results are combined. The Fermi processors each have 3 GB of DDR5 RAM for a total of 12 GB. This could be doubled. The Intel CPU has 12 GB also with each 4 GB on one of three memory buses (on the MB) feeding into the CPU. This also could be doubled. Each Fermi processor uses a PCIe x16 connection to the motherboard. The memory hierarchy extends to the storage unit which uses an Intel X18E 32-GB SSD as a cache. The Oracle database uses an identical high-speed SSD as a “flash cache” adjunct to the Oracle buffer cache.