none
convert incoming email to case

Question

• I am a beginner in CRM and have the following question...

Is there a manner to convert incoming emails (with a structured message body) to a case in crm?
    Let's say CRM receives an e-mail with data in the message body to create a new case.

How can I achieve this customization?

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
    K.

Monday, August 23, 2010 8:43 AM

Answers

• Thanks first for your prompt response, but I have also one more question.

I'll give more info...

A client fills in a form on a website X.
    Website X sends an structured e-mail to CRM.
    CRM receives that e-mail with in the message body
    of the e-mail data that is needed to use on case level.

In the e-mail body I have the e-mail(customer), title, subject,...
    When I create a workflow where can I filter the body of the message to use the values in the body
    to fill in the fields at the case record...

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
    Kr

In this case, as I mentioned previously, you can create custom workflow activity to include the custom logic to parse message body extract the customer, title, subject etc & then create "Case" accordingly. Then create workflow on "Email" entity to add step to call this custom workflow activity.

To create custom worlflow activity, refere "Custom Workflow Activities" topic from MS Dynamics CRM SDK 4.0 where you will get all information about creating, registering custom workflow activity, adding it in workflow form & some sample code.

One thing I want to mention here is : as workflow executes asynchronously, you may experience some delay in case being added.

Another way could be creating plug-in to achieve the same.

Thank you.

JayshriP.

• Marked as answer by crmkr Tuesday, August 24, 2010 9:27 AM
    Monday, August 23, 2010 11:40 AM

All replies

• Monday, August 23, 2010 8:47 AM