Trying to transfer Money2000 from ext hd to Windows 7 RRS feed

• Question

• My motherboard crashed but I have put the hard drive into an external case and am trying to get my money files transferred to new computer.  I have loaded Money2000 on to new computer with original cd.  I can find mny files on the ext drive but can't transfer them to new drive.  I have tried drag and drop.  I have tried to transfer the files to a flash drive and can't seem to figure that out.  It's not just money but other programs and files that I can't transfer.  Someone already did the Easy File Transfer for me.  That doesn't do everything.If someone has any answers please give me step by step because I'm a novice at this.  Thanks.

Sunday, July 24, 2011 7:54 PM

All replies

1. Close Money.
    2. Open Windows Explorer (WindowsKey+E is one way to do that)
    3. Browse to your *.mny file on the old drive. Right-click and choose Copy.
    4. Browse to your Documents folder on the new drive.., Right-click and choose Paste.
    5. Right-click the copied file Documents folder, and choose Open. That should launch Money.
    6. Once inside, Tools->Options->Backup to set the backups to a place that exists on the new computer. Consider your backup strategy. Be glad that your old hard drive did not crash. Next time you may not be so lucky.

If things do not go as you expect, identify what step the problem occured. Identify the actual error message.

Sunday, July 24, 2011 8:16 PM
  • You need to take ownership of the files on the external drive.

Right click on the drive in Windows Explorer, select Properties, then the Security tab and give your user name Full Control over the drive.

Make sure the permissions are propagated down the whole of the drive.

Monday, July 25, 2011 7:09 AM