Online 2013 CRM API Questions RRS feed

• Question

• hello,  i am investigating building an application that would need to access, and search, contact data from a MS Dynamics 2013 (online version) instance.  to those ends, below are some questions.  i'm relatively new to microsoft dynamics, so forgive me if my nomenclature is off.

questions:

1. from my external app, is the API we'd need to use to access CRM data the "SOAP endpoint", as seen here: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/gg490657(v=crm.6).aspx?
    2. is this ODATA endpoint (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/gg334279(v=crm.6).aspx) something different, and also a possibility for me?
    3. what are the authentication options i have?  i'll need some kind of app level authentication (from my app) that does not prompt the user to authenticate with the CRM prior to fetching data (from the CRM).  is this possible?
    4. where can i find a list of the CRM data access API methods that are available?  specifically what methods are available for searching content?
    5. and finally, though not related to the above external app scenario, is it possible to trigger some custom action (ie script or something of that nature) on the insert and update of a certain type of CMS data?  for example, on entry or update of a contact, can the CMS trigger a script connects to an external system (via restful API)?  furthermore, if this is possible, what options do we have for languages to build this triggered script (is it .NET only)?

let me know if my questions need further elaboration.

thanks.

Monday, April 14, 2014 9:56 PM

All replies

• For 2013 online, you can connect external apps via SOAP or the REST/OData endpoints. For either case, you now have the capability to use OAuth for your authentication, which is pretty well documented/supported in most common languages. If you look at the documentation and examples for the CRM endpoints you can see what is available for 'searching' the contact data.