I can't believe I did this. Primary WHS HD wiped out and want to recover data on second drive RRS feed

• Question

• Ok, here I am an IT professional and I didn't even follow my own procedures.  I am running WHS with a primary 250gb SATA and a 500gb PATA second drive.  Both were full, hence the nightmare that I created below.

I was installing two more (used) HD's to my WHS.  So I logged into WHS locally and saw that WHS didn't recognize them.  So I booted up my reliable disk wipe program and promply (and accidentally) wiped the primary (OS) HD instead of the correct one.  I wiped it so well that even decent "recovery" software can't find anything. 

Now I have seen multiple conflicting posts that are almost 18 months old using the beta software about recovering the files that are duplicated (not all files were set to duplicate) on the second drive (called "DATA").  Some say that running the install disk and using upgrade or recover will work but I don't have those options, only "new installation."  Those that have tried "new installation" have had all of their old data wiped out.

What can I do to reinstall WHS and recover the files on the DATA drive?
    David
    Wednesday, December 10, 2008 2:21 PM

Answers

• David, the first thing you should do is recover the files. Then you can worry about reinstallation.

To recover your files (not the easiest way, but the most certain):
    • Remove your data drive from your server and connect it to another computer. 
    • In Windows Explorer, browse to <driveletter>:\DE\Shares. (<driveletter> will be the appropriate one for your configuration).
    • In that location, you will find all your shares. Any files that are recoverable will be here. If you don't see a file here, it's gone.