How do I fix this??? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone,

I'm new to server editions of Windows having always used normal desktop environments, currently I'm running Windows Home Server 2011 and Plex Server, I've been running this setup now for a week with no problems, the server is published and shared with 3 friends who could all see the contents up until today, the only change I've made is that I've setup remote access on the server so that I can access it remotely. 

Now my Plex server is showing as unavailable in red letters, if anyone attempts to use the direct I.P. address the page goes to the home server login page which I do not want anyone but me accessing for obvious reasons.

My question is how can I access both my plex server and still use remote access?

Any help would be appreciated 

Noel 
    Monday, January 7, 2013 6:45 PM

Answers

• From the Plex FAQ:

What network ports do I need to allow through my firewall to enable access?

TCP 32400 (for access to the Plex Media Server)

UDP 1900 (for access to the Plex DLNA Server)

UDP 32469 (for access to the Plex DLNA Server)

UDP 5353 (for Bonjour/Avahi if you are using these products for service discovery)

Have you tried<Server_IP_address>:32400? Is your router set up to port forward either of those ports to your Plex Server? If your router is UPnP compatible, WHS will have forwarder 80 and 443 for you. Turning off media streaming will switch it off, even though it did not appear to have done so. What it won't do is put your router back to the same state it was in before you started!

Phil P.S. If you find my comment helpful or if it answers your question, please mark it as such.

• Marked as answer by Andy Qi Tuesday, January 15, 2013 2:07 AM
    Monday, January 7, 2013 8:32 PM

All replies

• You will need to change Plex to use different ports to those used by WHS2011 (which uses 80 (http://) and 443(https://)).