Looking to build my first WHS machine RRS feed

• General discussion

• As the title says i'm new to WHS but i have built computers for years and now i want to build a home server. i would like to use a low watt X2 Amd cpu and about 2GB of ram. Does anyone have a suggestion on a main board that runs well with WHS and not a whole lot of driver issues.

thanks for your time

Thursday, December 18, 2008 6:01 PM

All replies

• I built my server about 6 weeks ago:

Silverstone SUGO SG02B-F Case
    SeaSonic S12 II SS-330GB Power Supply
    GIGABYTE GA-MA74GM-S2 AM2+/AM2 AMD 740G Micro ATX AMD Mobo
    AMD Athlon X2 4850e 2.5GHz Socket AM2 45W Dual-core CPU
    SILVERSTONE NT07-AM2 80mm CPU Cooler
    CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 SDRAM -TWIN2X2048-6400C4
    Microsoft Windows Home Server 32 Bit 1 Pack (Power pack 1) - OEM
    Western Digital Caviar GP WD7500AACS 750GB Hard Drives Qty=2

Had one minor problem initially. At my first boot up - no video! Cleared the CMOS and the video came up! Then, I setup the BIOS and installed WHS. Last, I just installed the recommended drivers right off of the disk that came with the Mobo. I didn't bother looking for updated drivers. It's been running fine.

Regards,
    Scott
    Thursday, December 18, 2008 7:34 PM
  • Atix,

It's worthwhile reading the 17 page thread  "Whats in your Server" , there are a vast array of possibilities available to you and this has some good information.

Colin

If anyone answers your query successfully, please mark it as 'Helpful', to guide other users.
    Saturday, December 20, 2008 6:55 PM
  • Atix said:

As the title says i'm new to WHS but i have built computers for years and now i want to build a home server. i would like to use a low watt X2 Amd cpu and about 2GB of ram. Does anyone have a suggestion on a main board that runs well with WHS and not a whole lot of driver issues.

thanks for your time