none
C#: How to Search keywords in a textbox with textchanged event with mysql tables RRS feed

• Question

• Goal: Be able to type letters/words into a textbox, then populate info into datagridview pulling from mysql tables

This is code i found that only works with a single table. I want to pull from multiple tables/columns.

I am still new to coding, please try to include some comments about how the code works. 

Much appreciated, Thanks.

public void searchData(string valueToSearch)
            {
                string searchQuery = "SELECT * FROM extensionlist WHERE CONCAT(`ExtID`, `Facility`, `Name`, `Extensions`, `PhoneModel`) LIKE '%" + valueToSearch + "%'";
                MySqlDataAdapter adapter = new MySqlDataAdapter(searchQuery, connection);
                DataTable table = new DataTable();
                adapter.Fill(table);
                dataGridView1.DataSource = table;

}

private void SearchTextboxDG_TextChanged(object sender, EventArgs e)
            {
                searchData(SearchTextbox.Text);
            }

private void form1_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
            {
                searchData("");

}

• Moved by KareninstructorMVP Friday, April 20, 2018 5:29 PM moved from vb.net forum
    • Moved by CoolDadTx Monday, April 23, 2018 2:51 PM Winforms related
    • Moved by Stanly Fan Wednesday, May 2, 2018 1:12 AM
    Friday, April 20, 2018 4:07 PM

All replies

• If this would go there should be a lot of redundancy in your database. 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Data_redundancy

Which means that it would be good first to normalize your database. 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Database_normalization

Of course there can be code made for your problem. 
    But that code will mean that later if you have more problems can throw it complete in the thrash bin.