Yep - Another Valid XP Installation Suddenly Locked RRS feed

• Question

• First, the requisite info:
    XP Pro SP2, OEM version, this is the manufacturer's original installation (not mine), OS has not been loaded on a different system.  Vendor is Sager, who retails products manufactured by Midern.

Background:
    System is snakebit, apparently.  It's been back twice now for a new motherboard.  Both times the BIOS was upgraded.  The first time it came back, no problems.  The second time it came back, they had also replaced the NIC and the system now goes to the "Activate Windows" screen as soon as I log in.  FYI, I pulled the system drive before sending it in for service (to protect personal financial information).  Vendor reports that their XP installation image worked just fine when they tested the new hardware.

So, a call to MS.  MS reports that the Installation ID is reporting that my product key is invalid, which isn't true.  I'm a systems admin, and I know how to extract the encrypted ID from the Registry (in Safe Mode).  I pulled it, and it matches the ID on the MS sticker on the case (yes, it does say OEM).  Also, going through the activation process and clicking on the "Change Product Key" button displays the correct PID (matching what's on the sticker and what's in the Registry).  Furthermore, a call to the vendor (who keeps very good records) reveals that the key they have on record for this system matches all of the above.  My copy is genuine.  It worked perfectly before I pulled the system drive and the vendor repaired the unit.