TrueCrypt Volume RRS feed

• Question

• I have a truecrypt volume on my desktop and laptop.

I added a folder from the volume into mesh on my desktop.

Then I goto my laptop, started mesh, mounted my volume and pointed the mesh folder to the truecrypt volume.

After everything is finished, I dismounted both volumes.

Now mesh thinks I don't have that folder anymore and asks me if I want to sync.

Any workarounds?
    Friday, May 16, 2008 1:04 AM

Answers

• [With the caveat that I've never used TrueCrypt before..]

When the Live Mesh client detects that a Live Mesh Folder is no longer where it expects it today, it will assume that the Folder has been unmapped, or "no longer synchronized" with this device, and place a "ghosted" shortcut representing that Folder on the Desktop.  If you double click that shortcut, you get the dialog that asks you if you would like to synchronize that Folder on this device.  (I believe that's what you're hitting?)

You can safely delete this shortcut on the Desktop without any side effects.

As long as you waited long enough for your data to get synchronized up to the cloud (and you're under quota), you can safely unmap/stop synchronzing a Live Folder on all your devices if you wish, because all the data will have been synchronized to the cloud/Live Desktop.

Hope that helps,
    Richard
    Friday, May 16, 2008 4:58 PM
    Answerer

All replies

• [With the caveat that I've never used TrueCrypt before..]

When the Live Mesh client detects that a Live Mesh Folder is no longer where it expects it today, it will assume that the Folder has been unmapped, or "no longer synchronized" with this device, and place a "ghosted" shortcut representing that Folder on the Desktop.  If you double click that shortcut, you get the dialog that asks you if you would like to synchronize that Folder on this device.  (I believe that's what you're hitting?)

You can safely delete this shortcut on the Desktop without any side effects.