none
Syncronization Flaw

    Question

  • INTRO: Recently, I tried to synchronize between a folder on a local D: disk drive and a USB drive (F:) plugged into USB3.0 port.  A day earlier, I had added numerous files, all called "notes.txt" in many of the subfolders of the local D: drive.  The preview synchronization indicated that those files and many other recently created files were targeted for deletion.  Now these files had never existed on the F: drive and so should have previewed to be copied to the target folder on that drive.  So I cancelled the synchronization, deleted the synctoy sync files in each folder and tried to sync as if they were in first time syncrhonization mode.  Same preview results.  So I changed the settings for the synchronization to left to right transfer.  Same results.   So I deleted the folder pair and recreated the folder pair from scratch.  The preview then correctly interpreted that the new files should be added to the F: drive. (Windows 7 BTW, Disk D: magnetic, Disk F: magnetic).

    QUESTIONS:  What could have caused SyncToy to misinterpret the files to be marked for deletion?  Why did I need to recreate the folder pair?




    • Edited by DBroad2 Wednesday, March 26, 2014 5:28 PM
    Wednesday, March 26, 2014 5:26 PM