none
question about softwifi------the code in the sdk1.6 RRS feed

• Question

• hi there:

I am studying the code of the softwifi in kernal mode and  come across some questions.Here are the questions。

1,what is the perpose of the function,"KeSetTimer" in the file Sdr_mac_tx.c? I wonder if it indicates that the retry count of the packet in the SendSymWaitList has become greater than the threshold so that the driver should drop it and free the resources it has taken.

2, what's the point of the funciotn "Latency check" in "DataFrameAck" in Sdr_mac_rx.c?

3,how do  two nodes do the timing synchronization in softwifi? It will be of great help that you guys can tell me which part of the softwifi  do this.

looking forward to your answers, thanks!   

Wednesday, July 18, 2012 9:12 AM

Answers

• I can answer your last 2 questions, and redirect the first question to other teammates, please wait a while.

2. The function 'LatencyCheck' in Sdr_mac_rx.c is to control the latency between decoding a frame and sending ACK frame. You can refer the section '9.2.3.1 SIFS' in 'IEEE Std 802.11?-2007, IEEE Standard for Information Technology--Telecommunications and information exchange between systems--LANs and MANs--Specific requirements--Part 11: WLAN MAC and PHY Specifications'.
    3. For 802.11a protocol, check the function 'BB11ARxTrySync'. For 802.11b protocol, check the function 'BB11BDownSample'. For the brick implementation of 802.11b protocol, check the class 'TSymTiming'.

By the way, if you don't care much about kernel mode driver, you can investigate code in the folder 'umxsdr', which is user mode implementation of SoftWifi. They are more readable, robust and easier to experiment.

Friday, July 20, 2012 3:23 AM
    Answerer
  • Question 1:

The TX, RX and CS are controlled by the MAC state machine.

The state machine jumps between CS and RX if there are always signals in air.

Once this scenario occurs, TX gets no chance for execution.