Product Categories RRS feed

• Question

• Please help!!! I have been using Money for a few years and of late it seems to delete my product category.  

I have set up hundreds of part codes and assigned them to a category called "Stock Sales"  When I ran one of the reports which returns a summary of all sales by category, most of the sales were "Unassigned"  I went into the products list and clicked on an item only to fined the category box blank.  This was the same for all my products.  I the had to re-enter all the categories again one by one for over 500 lines which took a couple of hours.  I couldnt find a way to do them all at once. This worked fine and the report was ok.  A few months later I neede to run the report again and all the category assignments had dissapeared again.  I am now on my 3rd time but I am losing confidence in  this package.  Is it me doing something wrong. 

I have backed it up but not for a few weeks. so restoring is not really a good option.  Besides I think it must be a glitch in the software somewhere.

Thanks

Martin

Tuesday, June 18, 2019 6:18 AM

All replies

• 1. I don't know what a product category is. Maybe you are referring to

a. A regular category used with transactions

b. A feature of the Business versions... I don't use that version. What Money version are you using?

c. A Classification that you have created, but I think that applies to transactions rather than an asset. If you have set up a Classification, you would see it by clicking AccountTools->Categories&Payees and looking in the left column.

2. If you want to change the Category or Classification of a bunch of transactions, you can use the advanced Find and Replace. Tools->FindAndReplace. The criteria can include that there is no existing category.