Securing system drive and availability RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there,

first off, i would like to say that i am completely new to WHS, so please dont frown upon factual mistakes on my part :)

When i first looked at the original whs i ignored it due to the fact that it didnt seem a robust enough product. I might have been mistaken, but it didnt get very much attention in my home contry, so theres that.

However, ive been looking at upgrading my NAS for a couple of months now, and stumpled upon the V2 WHS and got intrigued. It seems that it could fill my needs for a NAS and add easy backup for my home windows 7 enviorment (4PC running either w7 home or w7 ultimate)

As an old DIY builder though i have some concerns regarding the stability and security of the system drive.

As i understand you HAVE to install WHS on a 160GB drive(which i find silly, i dont want my system drive to act as storage space).

Base system:

Intel Core i3 cpu

Intel H57 based motherboard

4GB RAM

system drive?

storage: 4x2TB WD20EARS drives

Given above and following dealbreakers, how would you recommend i choose my system drive(s):

- I NEED an easy way to handle a system drive crash, including WHS configuration

- I DONT need backup of all my storage, but some folders must be duplicated(as i understand veil supports this out of the box)

Now my own instincts tell me that a raid-1 of the system drive and then just add the 4x2TB in normal SATA mode is the way i want to go, but i have read several places that people dont recommend that i mix raid and WHS.

Also what read/write speeds do you think i can reach assuming a full 1GB network structure and windows 7 clients. I am thinking of raw read speed from the storage pool (4x2TB disks).

Whats your take on all this?

• Edited by Moerkbak Tuesday, July 6, 2010 8:37 AM added speed question
    Tuesday, July 6, 2010 8:29 AM

Answers