designing new features in crm forms 2013 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am new to crm and I have a question.

How to design a new feature like for example a 'Search' feature in CRM forms 2013 version from scratch?

If we want to create a custom Search page and a results page are there any form templates that are available already?

Or else how can I proceed?

Thanks for any help..

Monday, August 11, 2014 1:07 PM

Answers

• Not clear from your description exactly what your intention is.  However if you wish to embed a search button on a native CRM form that interacts with the form's fields this is possible.  You will create the button on your own html page, then embed it in the form as a Web Resource or IFRAME.  You will want to make sure that cross-frame scripting is enabled on this item as you want it to interact with the parent form.  See:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/gg328034.aspx

-JayB

Monday, August 11, 2014 3:16 PM

All replies

• What you implement will depend in part on what information you are searching for and where it could be found.  In general you will find broad support in CRM for rendering custom pages/code within an IFrame.  I have found it easier to work with HTML5 and JavaScript.  These can be hosted in CRM itself as Web Resources.  If you need to write server-side code such as ASP.NET or Web Services, you will need to host it elsewhere.  A good place to start is with the CRM 2013 SDK.
    Monday, August 11, 2014 1:19 PM
  • Ok..

In that case, my requirement is to include a search button in a form with all the same fields of a crm form.

Can I use the existing form template and make changes according to my requirement.

Because, my search form should like a crm form, I am thinking of using a crm form template itself. Please let me know if this is possible?

thanks

Monday, August 11, 2014 3:03 PM