DELL PowerEdge 860 misfortunes ... RRS feed

• General discussion

• I'm a geek by trade and seeing everything out there in regards to the marketed versions of the WHS through HP and others .. I figured, why not .. build my own .. not meaning from scratch, but the actually purchase equipment that is more a server than a desktop.

I went up on eBay and fished through the server listings .. found a sweep little 1U server called the DELL PowerEdge 860 .. specs are:

• CPU : Single (1) DUAL CORE XEON 1.86Ghz / 2 MB Cache / 3040
    • Memory : 2GB REG ECC DDR2 SDRAM
    • HD : Two (2) Seagate 250GB 7200RPM SATA 3.5" Hard drive
    • Optical Drive : 24X CD-ROM DRIVE IDE
    • Network : Onboard integrated Two (2) Broadcom 10/100/1000BASE-TX NICs
    • Power Supply : AC, 345 W, 110V-240V
    • Video : Integrated XGI XG20 VGA controller - 16 MB
    • Ports : (BACK) Two (2) USB, One (1) Serial , Two (2) PS/2, and One (1) 15-pin VGA / (FRONT) Two (2) USB, One (1) 15-pin VGA
    • Form Factor : 1U Rackmount
    • Riser Card : PCI-E RISER CARD (1XPCI-E X8 SLOT, 1X PCI-E)
    • RAID Controller : DELL SAS 5/iR INTERNAL CONTROLLER RAID PCIE

All that for $ 239.99 with free shipping .. couldn't beat that.

Well once I received it, I did a couple of modifications to the specs by fishing around eBay a little more .. bumped the processor to a QUAD CORE XEON 2.66GHz / 8 MB Cache / X3230 .. removed the memory and installed 4 x 2GB ECC DDR2 667 SDRAM for a total of 8GB .. removed the 2 Seagate 250GB drives and installed 2 Seagate 1TB drives. With the DELL SAS Raid controller installed .. configured the drives as RAID 0 for a total of 2TB .. also replaced the 24X CD-ROM Drive with a DVD reader .. Ran the latest DELL XpressUpdate on the server updating ALL firmwares .. this system was now ready for the software.