•  

hi, i am a IT Technician, i have had to replace the magor system files:

system

software

sam

security

in the C:\WINDOWS\system32\config\  folder

with older versions from the system volume information folder

due to them being currupt, but now i am getting 'you have to active your copy of windows xp' (home) on windows logon, but alls it does is start to login then logs off again, and doesnt give me the 'lets activate windows' box, i have tryed going into safe mode and making sure my network connection is enabled to get to the net, but cant even get that far, does the same thing in that direction.

any suggestions would be great, also i cant use the tool because i cant get on to the dcomputer to install and run, i can connect this HDD to another pc easily if there are any suggestions.

many thanks

Edd

Sunday, May 6, 2007 4:28 PM

Answers

• Edd468373,

The procedure you are following, from http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307545/en-us, is guaranteed only to enable you to start the computer in order to retrieve data.

If you cannot log onto the system interactively, then you cannot run any of the typical fixes that might solve the current problem.

IMO your best option is to retrieve the data by slaving the HDD to another computer, then test the system as appropriate to determine if a hardware fault caused the registry corruption, then if and when hardware faults have been cured, do a clean installation of XP.

Monday, May 7, 2007 3:22 PM

All replies

• Edd468373,

The procedure you are following, from http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307545/en-us, is guaranteed only to enable you to start the computer in order to retrieve data.

If you cannot log onto the system interactively, then you cannot run any of the typical fixes that might solve the current problem.