Sales Pipeline Phases out of order RRS feed

• Question

• I can't seem to find a way to update the sales pipeline phases. I've exported several different solutions and I haven't been able to find where I can customize these. It could just be I'm missing it as I'm no expert in coding.

My issue is that I have changed the Sales Pipeline to populate from the estimated close date field. The pipeline builds out in months and by total revenue estimated to come in that month. The issue is the bottom of the chart is June then it goes to February, then blank, then April, than March. So it's completely out of order. I haven't been able to find where I can change these pipeline phases. Any help is greatly appreciated.

I have also looked into creating a workflow to change the pipeline phase. Though it seem the CRM is smart enough to know to break up the pipeline by months. When I look at creating a workflow based of estimated close date the options are "x" number or days or months from the estimated close date. I want it to be in the month. I think the CRM has this set up already I just need be able to change the phases so the most recent upcoming month is first and so on.

Thanks for any and all help,

Trevor

[Edit] I solved part of the issue. It is sorting the pipeline by which month has the largest revenue coming through. But I still can't figure out how to change it so that pipeline goes by month. I have it set up so it goes by estimated revenue and month. But it sorts by largest revenue coming through. If i switch the axises the options aren't the same. Any ideas on how to make it soft by most recent month instead?

Thursday, January 24, 2013 5:33 PM

Answers

• Pipeline phases are set by the value in the opportunity field called stepname. This is a text field.. so you would be unable to "sort" your pipeline by this field unless you give it a "logical" sorting value.