Acer easyStore H340, how to install a fresh OS? RRS feed

• Question

• Sorry, this is my first time posting on a forum so excuse me if it’s a bit long, if there’s anybody out there that could help me I’m describing the whole process I’ve been through for informational purposes.

I’m sure I’m not the only one with this problem; but here’s my everlasting long journey into trying to reinstall the OS on the Acer easyStore H340.

In the beginning the server worked OK although I wasn’t impressed with the ancient OS it was based upon (windows home server 2003) as I understand that is the only server version for home server, at least that’s what the vendor told me. After a few weeks using it i had a bunch of windows error reports pop up whenever I connected RDP to it. About 11 off them! (Without installing or making any changes what so ever).

So i send them in a couple of times just for the joke of it, and then my hard drives appeared as missing in the console and it all just fell apart from there.

I decided to try a factory reset, yeah, that didn’t work, i tried everything i could find about it online, nothing seemed to respond other than that i had a fancy blinking red "i" on it.

I thought maybe there was some compatibility issue’s since I’m running on win 7 64-bit OS, so i tried a virtual machine with Windows XP and that didn’t work either, i even brushed the dust off an old laptop with XP on it and tried different methods with cross-over cables directly to it and such, still no luck. (Only thing I didn’t try was via a hub, which I refuse to buy since that’s also ancient).